Intro + Idea

Hi. Welcome to Food from the 12. And a welcome to the Blog World to me, if I do say so myself.

This little project has been rolling around in my brain since, oh, I don’t know when. But you know how it is. Sometimes these things roll to the front of your brain, sometimes they get squashed when bigger, shinier ideas roll forward. Ideas like college, new jobs, vacations you can’t afford, and naps. Those sorts of things.

This is Scona. She's very supportive of my new interest in food blogging.

This is Scona. She’s very supportive of my new interest in food blogging.

So, this grey Saturday afternoon in January when I have yet to take down my Christmas tree or, indeed, even change out of my bathrobe (in my defence – it is criminally fuzzy), seems like as good a time as ever to get this thing off the ground.

That’s the intro taken care of. So here’s my idea – and I think you’re going to like it. Ready? Here it is:

Abolish January.

Okay, let me  explain. January is horrible. It’s cold (this blog comes to you from Northern Alberta), it’s long, there are no holidays (New Years’ Day doesn’t count because it’s part of The Holiday Season. It just doesn’t). All you get are five-day work weeks, scant hours of daylight and Seasonal Affective Disorder epidemics. It’s fine if you sell those UV Lamps, but the rest of us tend to struggle.

The best part: if your parents caught Spring Fever one April and you were born the following January, you get to choose a new birthday! Now, you could just move it to December or February, but why stop there? Haven’t you always wanted a pool party birthday in July? A long-weekend camping party in September? The world is your oyster. Go nuts, January baby.

The Workspace. A little cramped, a little dated, but you work with what you've got, right?

The Workspace. A little cramped, a little dated, but you work with what you’ve got, right?

You might be wondering how the seasons/our calendar/the earth’s rotation will be affected. Well, I have a two-year diploma in Radio and Television Arts, so I would’t know about that.

Before you rush to pass judgment, do me one favour. Take next week to think about it. Next week when you’re slogging through morning traffic in the dark, afternoon traffic in the dark. Days dragging by. Cold feet. Listlessness. The lot. And I’ll bet by next weekend you’ll be ready to consider my idea.

Alright, next time on Food from the 12: some food.

Before you ask - yes, this could come crashing down at any minute.

Before you ask – yes, this could come crashing down at any minute.

Leave a Reply

